Skip to content

Adding a TripAdvisor badge or widget to your property’s Facebook page

***PLEASE NOTE THIS BLOG POST HAS BEEN UPDATED SINCE ITS ORIGINAL POST DATE TO REFLECT NEW BEST PRACTICES***

Good news for owners on TripAdvisor who also use Facebook to connect with fans and customers: we’ve just made it even easier to display TripAdvisor content on your property’s Facebook page!

Many hospitality business owners have a wealth of valuable guest feedback on their TripAdvisor pages. Now they can leverage that content on Facebook by displaying their business’s reviews and photos to fans on the far-reaching social media platform.

We’ve developed an easy-to-use TripAdvisor App for your property’s Facebook page. Once you’ve successfully installed the app, it will automatically display your property’s review snippets, candid traveler photos, and – if applicable – any TripAdvisor awards you’ve won. The app is fully customizable; you may select which elements you wish to share with your fans, and which you wish to hide.

The App is available in your Management Center in the “Free marketing tools” section. For a step-by-step installation guide, see the TripAdvisor App for Facebook PDF.

So, what are you waiting for? Install the TripAdvisor App for Facebook today to get your valuable TripAdvisor content in front of fans and potential customers!

90 Comments Post a comment
  1. Switched to IE and could paste but then the code seems to be wrong, I get a broken link message.

    June 1, 2011
    • Try pasting into notepad rather than word as it may be interfering with the characters. Also make sure there are no extra spaces around the code. Let me know if that works.

      June 1, 2011
  2. Hi, Great info..thanks. How do I add multiple property TripAdvisor badges to the same Facebook page?

    June 1, 2011
    • Hi there, you just cut and paste the code for each badge under the first one in the iFrame field.

      June 1, 2011
  3. All looks good except that when anyone clicks onto the link all they (and I) get is the FB source code page (Save and view tab) Of course I can preview the tab from there, but that’s not what’s supposed to happen, is it?! A work in progress for me, I think!

    June 1, 2011
  4. Any help out there for this problem above?! I’ll have to learn how to remove it otherwise!

    June 1, 2011
  5. Hi gustowinetours, you are seeing this because you are an admin. Log out of Facebook and go to your page and you should see it as a visitor would.

    June 1, 2011
  6. Hi Tripadvisor4biz,
    I have the same problem as gustowinetours.
    Thanks for advising.
    michelle

    June 1, 2011
  7. Hi there – I am seeing the widget fine on the link you posted. I’ll ask one of our tech people if they can look into what might be happening. What browser are you using?

    June 1, 2011
    • Thanks, ‘preciate it!
      Firefox – the latest, on a pc.
      I have a Mac, I’ll fire that up and try on there!

      June 1, 2011
  8. One more with the same problem – http://www.facebook.com/willowbankhouse Please let me know if you dont see code. If you click on save it goes to the menu where you can choose fans or non fans. I choose non fans and then I see the review – hope this helps. Using ie 7 and XP pro on a PC

    June 1, 2011
  9. Now the widget is saying there are no reviews for this property!
    (I still can’t just view the widget, have to go to the source code page, click on save, then on view as either fan or non fan. )
    Tried on the mac – Safari – same thing.

    Might have to find a way to take it off until the bugs are fixed!

    June 1, 2011
    • To Gustowinetours,
      I thought i had the same problem,
      until i asked a friend to check it.
      It’s actually working. Us, as administrators, just can’t see it.
      Try and ask a friend.
      If you want to take it off, click on edit, just below your logo and list of links on the left hand side, and delete it.
      Good luck!
      michelle

      June 1, 2011
    • Ok we may have a solution. Can you delete the app completely, then go to your Facebook account settings/account security. If ‘secure browsing’ is ticked can you untick it so you don’t see https at the start of the URL . Then go back and start the process from the beginning, adding the app and uploading the widget again.
      Thanks

      June 2, 2011
  10. Have tried again this morning.Using teh code below but the page is blank. (not a broken link as yesterday) I logged out as suggested and that made no difference.

    Help please!!

    Birds Ferry Lodge

    June 1, 2011
  11. i can not find this icon ” edit page ” in my facebook. pls show me how to have?
    thanks tripadvisor

    June 2, 2011
    • Hi windbellhomestayhoian – you need to be logged in as an administrator. As soon as you are you will see the edit page icon in the top right hand of the page.

      June 2, 2011
  12. sorted – I had selected an app with a very similar star whihc is the wrong one!. Sillly me! All working fine now.

    June 2, 2011
  13. §If I don’t have secure browsing, won’t this be a little ‘dangerous’?! I would hate to be hacked – I’ve been careful so far!

    June 2, 2011
    • Once the widget is up you should be able to turn secure browsing back on. Let me know if it works. Thanks

      June 2, 2011
  14. Hi, ok, turned off the secure browsing, did it all again and still no good.

    I get this:

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gusto-Umbrian-Wine-Tours/202373998703?sk=app_190322544333196

    And just in case you can see something else, it says “Sorry, no reviews are available for this property. ”
    This is what it said after a while yesterday.

    At first, I could see the reviews and the widget but only after clicking through from the source code page and then fan or non fan link. Then it changed to the above, and so it continues!

    June 2, 2011
    • I too am receiving the message “Sorry, no reviews are available at this property.” Did you ever figure out how to fix this?

      June 13, 2011
      • Hi there, delete the widget and download again from scratch. That seems to have worked for others. Let us know if that works.

        Thanks

        June 14, 2011
      • Hi Mcqueenn – yes, it seems to be working now – I took off the ‘secure’ browsing, reloaded the widget and came out of FB then logged in again. Haven’t looked at it for a while, but checked today and it’s still there! (And current, always a bonus!)

        I haven’t tried to redo the secure browsing again – so not sure if it will work if I do that! Scared to try now!

        June 14, 2011
  15. Weird – I was able to see the widget fine at one stage yesterday after you first posted the link. Now I see the same as you – No reviews available. Have you tried with any of the other badges or widgets just to know if it is an issue with the specific widget you are trying to upload or with your account in general? I’ll go back to the tech team and see if they can come up with some explanation.

    June 2, 2011
  16. Right, at the moment, this widget looks like it’s working …

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gusto-Umbrian-Wine-Tours/202373998703?sk=app_190322544333196

    Lets go back and try the other one again now!

    June 2, 2011
  17. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gusto-Umbrian-Wine-Tours/202373998703?sk=app_190322544333196

    This seems to be working too!

    Let me give you the link for the actual page and see if you can link through on your own.

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gusto-Umbrian-Wine-Tours/202373998703?ref=ts

    Let me know if it works!!

    June 2, 2011
  18. Ok I can see it fine now too – looks like it is working. Did you do anything differently this time?

    June 3, 2011
  19. Hi ! many thanks for this guide.
    saddly, I’ve have a problem with the certificate (I’m more interested in reviews, but it’s just a test)
    after paste the html source into the tab, I log out and go on my page using my personal profile, and I can only see “Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels – Le Palace”
    i’m browsing with Opera but I don’t think it matters … When I go back on FB using my page, the code dissapears and it’s just written “Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels – Le Palace” with simple letters …
    Help ! THKS 🙂
    CPBXL

    June 3, 2011
  20. Hi there – did you click on ‘save and view’? Your page seems to be the old format with tabs across the top rather than down the side which might have some affect.

    Have a look at this video – it takes you through the process step by step and may help.

    The intro is a bit long so you can skip forward to the step by step part.

    Let me know if you get it to work.

    June 3, 2011
  21. Puzzled. I followed your exact instructions but take a look at Red Cedar Lodge ( Charles City, Iowa) page on facebook and when you click on the TripAdvisor Review button, I see the HTML giberish.
    Upon the preview, I could see the gadgets and thought I had it.

    Can you please help me fix it?
    Thanks,
    Lorraine

    June 6, 2011
  22. Hi there Lorraine, I can’t see the review tab at all on your listing – can you send me a direct link please.

    Thanks

    June 7, 2011
  23. NOT WORKING !!! of course already everything’s english.. and not worling AT ALL …

    here is a copy of what is says :
    Saved!
    – Back to editor
    – View your tab as a non-fan.
    – View your tab as a fan.

    To return to the editor from a preview, refresh your browser by pushing F5.
    Note: Facebook policy forbids autoplaying media on tabs. Make sure your tab doesn’t autoplay anything, or your page may get shut down!

    June 7, 2011
  24. well…I do understand english when I want and so… it’s working; I’m just dumb.. sorry for the first post ! anf thanx for your advices !

    June 7, 2011
  25. juliedotb #

    help! copied, pasted etc but when i refresh the page it displays reviews for a split second and then ‘ no reviews available’.logged in as a non-fan and still no joy!
    any suggestions?

    June 16, 2011
  26. Hi Julie – can you send me a link please. It sounds a bit like what happened to gustowinetours above. Have a look and follow the same procedure and let me know if that helps.

    Thanks

    June 16, 2011
      • Hi Julie – try deleting the existing widget code and downloading a different badge or widget from the site so we can see if it is just an issue with one widget. Also check and see if you have secure browsing enabled (in your Facbook account settings/account security. If so disable it while you upload the widget code again and see if that works.

        Thanks

        June 16, 2011
    • juliedotb #

      am assuming you mean my personal account security settings which have secure browsing disabled. Have uploaded a different widget – the first 2 times it loads perfectly and then back to ‘no reviews available’

      June 16, 2011
      • Hi Julie – I’ll go back to the tech team and see if they have any suggestions.

        Thanks

        June 16, 2011
      • Hi Julie, the tech team had a look and the code you are using is not the same as the code in your Owners’ center. Have you changed it? If you make any changes to the code it will not work.

        Regards

        June 16, 2011
  27. I’ve managed to paste it alright but there is a line of ‘gobbly do text’ then a link that says Laurel Bank has 41 reviews. it does click through to our reviews but doesn’t look very nice!!

    June 17, 2011
  28. Awesome…great job!

    June 21, 2011
  29. i have gone through all the steps as per the guide and when i go to look at it through either my own or my partner’s facebook page, it comes up with “trip advisor is unable to fulfill this request at this time” for the certificate, and “sorry there are no reviews for this property” for the other 2 badges… :o( it’s for HUHU cafe by the way…

    June 21, 2011
    • Hi there, can you check that the code you have embedded is exactly the same as the code in your Owners’ Center. Any change to the code will stop the widgets working. If all of this is ok, check that you don’t have secure browsing enabled in your Facebook settings, then delete all the code and start afresh. Please let me know if this works.

      Thanks

      June 21, 2011
  30. i have the same problem lika all others.
    i copied and pasted the code in the static HTML tab.
    after saving and logging on with non-administrtor profil, i saw the currentinformations.
    after about 5 minutes following messages appears:
    Sorry, no reviews are available for this property.

    here is the link:

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dominikanische-Republik-24/125094497556069?sk=app_190322544333196

    i although checked my profile security, but “safe browsing” wasn’t checked.

    so i have no idea.
    i copied the code again and saw, that it changed.

    here is the old and the new code:

    181 Bewertungen von SeavisTours in Bayahibe sind verfügbar

    181 Bewertungen von SeavisTours in Bayahibe sind verfügbar

    June 21, 2011
  31. Hi there Udo,

    So just to confirm when you copy the code across it changes? Let me go back to the tech team and see what they suggest. Are you cutting and pasting the code directly from TripAdvisor to Facebook or are you pasting it into a word doc first? Have you tried changing the code on Facebook back to the original to see if that works?

    Thanks

    June 22, 2011
  32. i copy&paste the code directly from tripadvisor to facebook

    June 22, 2011
  33. Hi Zouk, are you seeing a difference in the code too once you have posted it into Facebook? Compare the code carefully with the code on TripAdvisor and check if it has changed. If yes, try and amend it back to the original version and see if that works.

    Thanks

    June 22, 2011
  34. it’s still working.
    i check time after time the page.
    when it still runs in 1 hour, then the fault of me was to copy and paste the code DIRECTLY from tripadvisor to facebook without storing it in WORD first.

    June 22, 2011
  35. yes !

    June 22, 2011
  36. How does it work if I have 2 hotels in the same facebook account?

    July 1, 2011
    • Hi Gena, this isn’t a problem. You can either create two new review pages – one for each property or you can have a review/badge widget for each hotel on the same page. Just cut and paste one lot of code after the other.

      July 4, 2011
  37. Hi there, I’m in need of help. Instructions are clear, but what if I can’t find the EDIT PAGE icon on FB. I only found EDIT PROFILE. Following the steps described above, resulted in a No Results message when copy pasting static HTML iFrame’ and clicking on Add to my page. I have been searching Facebook on the subject, but am not able to find anything. Many thanks in advance. A

    July 17, 2011
    • Hi there, I had a look at your page on FB and it looks like you may have just set up a normal user profile using the name of your business rather than creating a professional page from the ‘create a page’ link in the footer. If this is the case you may not be able to add the iFrame.

      August 1, 2011
  38. On FB there are a couple or so different types of listing – when it says ‘Edit Profile’ it means it’s not a ‘Fan’ page, but a personal page. You need to set up a different type of page to be able to put the TA widget on there and to see the Edit Page near the top right! Right at the bottom of your FB profile page, there should be ‘Create A Page’ Click on that and follow the instructions for whatever type your page will be.
    Hope that helps, I’m not too tech savy, but I do have 2 different pages plus my personal page, so I know they are different!

    August 1, 2011
  39. I have attempted to add a TA Review widget but only see the code. I have looked at it from my personal page and can still see only code? Please advise.

    Hampton Inn Niceville

    January 2, 2012
  40. Having a little trouble – when I look at the page, all I get is the edit mode from either the page or my private page. All I see here is the code.
    When I look at preview, it appears OK.
    How do I tell if it is OK?
    http://www.facebook.com/Abisko.Lodge
    Thanks

    February 11, 2012
  41. I did exactly as suggested in the instructions and I can see the that something has changed on my page but there are no reviews or tripadvisor widget showing. Not sure what to do or how to fix and I am not technically savvy so this is a bit challenging for me.

    April 10, 2012
  42. Can you update this information to work with the new FB timeline features? I can no longer add your app. Thanks!

    April 18, 2012
  43. What about the new facebook page timeline format? This is not working for me.

    April 24, 2012
  44. OK – have the widget on my page – change the star icon to a Trip Advisor Icon but the link only goes to the widget icon and then you have to click on that to get to Trip Advisor — isn’t there a way to get the icon to go directly to our Trip Avisor Page – skipping the middle step of going to the widget itself???

    April 26, 2012
    • Hi Joe,

      Thank you for your comment! The application is designed so that you can display your TripAdvisor ratings and reviews on Facebook. There are no applications that direct users to a different website but you can add your review page url to the contact information.

      Thank you!

      May 14, 2012
  45. I’m being asked to pay 7 dollars per month to activate the static html tab – otherwise it just gives me the option to cancel and then chucks me out at the beginning again. Is this not available at no cost?
    Thanks!

    May 10, 2012
    • Hi Tanya,
      The application should be available for free. It asks you to pay $7/month when you click on ‘upload image.’ Simply copy and paste the HTML code for your property’s widget and you should be all set! You can get your HTML code at http://www.tripadvisor.com/widgets.

      Thanks!

      May 14, 2012
  46. I wish I were clever enough to do this on http://www.bandborillia.com!

    May 13, 2012
  47. Brilliant, it did work despite me not being able to see it in action, but friend checked link on FB and it works. Thank you TripAdvisor.

    June 5, 2012
  48. This doesn’t seem to work on the new facebook timeline format. I click on the page I want to add it do and follow the directions and it says it’s already in use. When I go to edit the existing app, I go to Edit Page, Update Info, Apps, Static HTML, Add Static HTML then get the following message “This application is already installed for all applicable pages.” And the link leads me to the main timeline page of the site. Thoughts? I would love to download the image and then add the link in the description, but haven’t had any luck with that. Any advice on that would be great, also.
    Thanks!

    June 10, 2012
  49. I have followed all of the instructions but cannot get the file with the Certificate of Excellence, to upload to replace the star sign, in Facebook Timeline.

    If I preview the file after adding and saving the HTML it Previews fine, but I don’t know where it is saved so that I can upload, and I am a computer guy, but I cannot seem to find a way to save or find the badge file.

    Any help, would be a great help.

    Thanks

    Mr C
    Owner, Panama Big Game Fishing Club, Isla Bocca Brava, Panama

    June 10, 2012
  50. Any chance this could be updated to reflect the new Facebook layout?
    I have tried to add our Travellers choice award to our http://www.facebook.com/FincaSonJorbo but all I get is the star which if clicked on eventually shows the badge. in a new page. Is it not possible for the award to show on the page instead of the star?

    June 11, 2012
  51. Can you change the image of the button from ‘a star’ to something more recognisable such as the Tripadvisor badge or one of the widgets we are able to download? The ‘star’ button is just a bit boring and means very little to anyone? Thanks in advance

    June 14, 2012
  52. Thanks for the info but it doesn’t seem to work for me at all. First, it seems that FB updated their layout since this article was written cause the screenshots weren’t exactly the same. No biggie though, I got through it. Once I went back to my page however, I clicked on the star icon to paste the html code. I pasted it and clicked “preview” and nothing. I went back to the edit page and this time clicked “save and publish” which then changed to “all saved.” So it seems like that’s it but when I go to my page I see absolutely nothing. Am I missing a step or just lost? Thanks in advance.

    December 28, 2012
    • trip4biz #

      Hi – Thanks for your question! We recently created a TripAdvisor App that you can add to your Facebook’s business page. Please see this blog post for more information and instructions on how to install.

      January 2, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. How to optimize your TripAdvisor listing | Daniel Edward Craig
  2. How to Optimize Your TripAdvisor Listing | Hotel and Jobs | Hospitality News

Leave a Reply

